One more day!

W9D2 went off without a hitch and that leaves me with one more day of the C25K program before it’s finished. Friday is going to bear a little celebration. Not a huge party, but I might have some good beer and maybe some hot wings. Haven’t done that in a long while.

Tonight wasn’t quite as easy as Day 1, but it was very close. I did have to push a little at the very end, but that was only the last quarter mile or so. I have a feeling this had to do with my running form tonight. I know I’m getting to a point in my training that I must concentrate on preventing injuries more since the distance is increasing. Correct running form can go a long way toward preventing injury. I made sure my shoulders were back and that there was no anterior tip to my hips which can cause shin splints and knee problems. Starting this behavior early will ensure that a good running form is natural to me by the time I start hitting the serious miles. Gotta love muscle memory! haha. I’ll also be focusing a lot on my core strength to help with form and prevent injury. Some of you might already know why that’s important, but this might sound odd to some of you, so let me explain.

I’ve said it before, early on in this blog, that building up the muscles in your back, mid-secton and hips is important for preventing injuries. I think I just touched on it lightly so it may not have left an impression at all, especially with the way I ramble. haha. Here’s the science of it. It really starts in the abdominal region. Proper abdominal fitness is huge when it comes to running form, so proper core exercise can be extremely beneficial to you. The reason for this is that if your abs are weak, your hips will tilt forward which also causes your legs to rotate and that will cause stress on the tibia and fibula while running. If your core is strong, especially your deep abdominal wall, your hips won’t tip forward and the legs won’t rotate. Have you ever wondered why people who drink a lot of beer or eat a lot of unhealthy food seem to gain inches in the midsection first? It’s because unhealthy diet really affects the deep abdominal wall which is the key to having a flat tummy and a strong core. In Pilates you’ll hear exercises to strengthen this as “powerhouse” movements. Of course, it’s important to strengthen the entire core, but making sure your abs are strong will prevent that forward tip and, therefor, help prevent injuries to your legs. This is one of my reasons why cross-training is so important. I actually learned this in martial arts, but it came in pretty handy for running! haha. So, there’s a little education for you, if you didn’t already know it.

As for my run tonight… it was beautiful outside! I didn’t get to run until after 11:00 p.m., but the temperature was around 70 F (21 C) and the humidity was low. It has been raining all day so there was a freshness in the air which isn’t something you get often during a Florida summer, even if it is coming to an end like it is now. I’ve been stretching before my runs lately (after my warm up walk) and that really does seem to free up the leg muscles. Some people will say they don’t do it and swear it’s the right answer, but if it works for you then do whatever feels right. I have always stretched after my muscles were warm until I started C25K this time. Having not done so for the past 8 weeks and then starting up again, I can tell you that the difference is like night and day. Try it. If you like it, keep doing it. It works for me.

Gonna stop typing words now. Hope everyone else is having as good a time as I am.

4 thoughts on “One more day!

  1. Nicole is just suspended for a week, not banned. I need to post this here, as I am also suspended and “invisible”. The week will be over on Sunday! Also, I enjoy reading your blog! Nice work writing and running.

    • Ohhh, okay. I don’t even know why any of it happened. Everything came down so fast haha. It wasn’t until someone else said something that I realized she was gone. I just thought she wasn’t posting in the same threads I was.

      Thanks! I’m glad you like the blog. šŸ˜€

Leave a Reply

