All Your Base…

… aren’t belong to me yet, but they will belong to me soon.

I’ve said it many times before, but I have to say it again. Tonight was the easiest run since starting this program! It totally makes up for the bad run I had on Friday! W9D1 didn’t have a chance! I am very happy to have such a strong, easy run this close to the end of the C25K program. Tonight I ran 3.1 miles in 33 minutes which comes to a 10:48 mile pace. I must be slowing down at some point in the last mile. No biggie. I’ll be running the 3.1 distance for a few weeks until I give myself a small rest the week before my 5K. Also, I’m taking next week off of exercise completely. I want to let my body heal completely before I start building the base. It looks like I really timed this program out perfectly for running the race on September 24th. That’s going to be a great day! It’s the day after my birthday and it’s a Saturday evening! I’m going to have a very good time after that race, for sure!

After the 5K race I will start moving forward with distance again and I’m going to add a Tuesday into my Mon-Wed-Fri schedule for speed work. I’m also going to start doing some strength and agility exercises on my run days. Aside from that, I’ll probably take my cross-training up a step. I just haven’t decided what I’m going to do yet. What I’m doing now seems to be working pretty well. I really wish the job market would turn around so I could get some money in my pocket and join the YMCA. I’d really love to do swimming for cross-training! I don’t care about their machines and weights. I’ve never concerned myself much with weight training and such. Using your body weight and resistance is enough if you know what you’re doing and you’re driven.

It’s all moving forward pretty nicely. I’ve also been running without my headphones lately because I got sick of carrying my phone and I didn’t really need it anymore since I stopped following the actual workouts of C25K. Didn’t need the app anymore. It’s nice to know that I don’t need the music. In all the time I used to run, I don’t think I ever went a day without headphones. I still like having the music, though, so once I get some cash, I’m gonna get an armband for it along with some other running accessories I’ve been keeping my eye on.

SO! Awesome run tonight! It can only get better from here… except on the days it sucks. haha.

Leave a comment