Ouch

Last night I decided to amp up my cross-training a little, so I reverted to my old training methods which are all pretty intense. Granted, I did take it a little easy because I need to get conditioned before I go all out like I used to, but it was still a rigorous workout and I felt great afterward. Normally I would stay off my legs on non-running days, but I think they’re strong enough to push it a little now. So, I did some high knees, suicides, mountain climbers, burpees, quick steps and push-ups and even a few 200 meter sprints! I also warmed up and cooled down with jumping jacks. A lot of these require heavy use of the legs and they really jack up the breathing rate. Because of the strain on the calves, tonight was a little rough. But not too much.

As I began W8D2 tonight, my calves started to ache a little. I knew this wasn’t something I was going to run through. It was gonna be there for my whole run. The run itself wasn’t bad because, after the very heavy breathing yesterday, all 28 minutes of running tonight were very easy on the lungs. Not to say I wasn’t panting a little, but it was easier to handle which, despite the pain in the lower legs, made for a positive experience. My legs recovered quickly. I got in about an hour ago and took a nice, hot shower and now they feel fine. I’ll take that as a good sign! This was definitely the easiest run since beginning the 5K distance instead of sticking strictly to the C25K plan.

I’m very happy with my progress. It’s nice to be able to take on some other hard workouts now. I never thought I’d feel this good 3 months ago. I’m glad to be back at it!

Leave a Reply

