Under Cover of Night

Tonight I thought I would be lucky enough to run in a nice warm rain because it had been raining most of the day, but, as usual, the weather forecast was effin’ wrong and it stopped around 10:00 this evening. I guess I shouldn’t complain, though, because all that rain cooled the air considerably and the humidity took a dip as well. This was the most comfortable running weather I’ve experienced in weeks. I also shouldn’t complain because I do prefer running at night and, if the weather was cold, I’d have to run while the sun was up. I’m sure this winter will include some afternoon runs. BOO! HISS! GET A HAIRCUT!. No, wait… that’s what people scream at me. Anyway… if I could run with nothing but moonlight, I’d be one happy guy. I’m looking forward to finding all the night races I can. But, I’m not a vampire or anything. Hell, I don’t usually even like vampire movies. And the light of day does provide some beautiful views so I’m not against it or anything. haha. For example… Ireland. Pretty and green. At night… looks just like New Jersey… uh… at night. Dark.

I’m going to cut that short before I take you too far down the path of nonsense my brain is capable of laying out and get on with the show.

Week 4, Day 2 was challenging enough to keep me pushing, but easy enough to give me time to reflect on my progress and the running I’ve done in the past. As the longer runs went into the later minutes, all I could think about was that I’ve run two miles in less than 15 minutes before. That I’ve run a 5K in under 30 minutes and that was only a year ago. My mind always tends to go there when I start really “feeling it”. What I find most interesting about this is that my mind delivers these sentiments with a heavy amount of sarcasm. My mind says to my body, “I can do this, why can’t you? Ohhh, yeah. You got fat and slow. Well, I’m still thin and quick, tubby, so catch up!” Usually it’s others who get the wrath of my sarcastic nature, so it’s odd to be on the receiving end of it. I may end up having to kick my own ass if I can’t learn some damn respect! 🙂

What I love about this program is that it really does erase all doubt as you move on. Last week I thought these 5 minute runs were gonna end me. This week I’m sweating everything about Week 5! And for good reason. That week is the turning point. From 5 minute runs to a 20 minute run in 3 days. The difference between me now and me on W1D1 of this program is… determination. At first I was just hoping I could get through each day. Now I’m at the point where I refuse to give up. So, no matter what the remaining 5 weeks bring my way, I am going to complete each and every session. This is the attitude I had all my life and only lost gradually in the past 5 years after being beaten down by life and weight gain and generally bad mental and physical health. Each day I complete brings back another piece of the person I was. The person I know I should be. Let’s just hope I haven’t forgotten how to stay humble haha. I don’t wanna be a cocky prick. Well… no more than I am now.

I am looking forward to finally being conditioned enough to start working on speed. I have no idea what my pace is right now and that’s intentional. I don’t want to focus on how fast I am right now. I want to focus on being able to run for a certain distance or certain amount of time. I don’t care about the distance in a certain time. Not right now. Would I like to do another sub-30 5K again this time around? Sure. Do I think I will? Probably not. And I’m fine with that. But that 5K isn’t the end of the line. I’d like to run a 1:45-ish half-marathon in March. I understand how hard I’ll have to work for that, but it’s what I want and I’m sick to death of not having the things I want haha.

I should probably stop now. I can tell this entry is a bit convoluted. I’m all over the place. Just too much going through my mind tonight. And I haven’t showered yet so… that probably has something to do with it. Gonna go de-funk myself and relax.

Leave a Reply

