Finally!

This evening was the first time I’ve had the chance to run in nearly two weeks. I was not pleased with the delays, but it seemed like the fates were conspiring against my morning runs. Well, I tricked those silly bitches by running at night! Take that Clotho, Lachesis and Atropos! Okay, I’ll stop being a mythology nerd now. The point is, I got out there and did it before something else could jump out and stop me.

Running during a Florida summer is… challenging. It’s all about timing. Running at 11 p.m. can kill you! But if you wait 6 hours, you can run and feel just fine. Not that the heat / humidity down here is all that bad. Most people are very surprised to find out that St. Louis weather (where I grew up in the middle of the country) soars over 100 F degrees (37 C) during the summer with the same humidity percentage as Florida. Either way, when you’re out of shape, any kind of running in heat and thick air is tough. Tonight backed up that theory. I had rested for over a week so the muscles I had been using were still fine, but my stamina had taken a bit of a slide. My muscles were ready to rock! But my lung and pulmonary endurance were draggin’ ass. I’ll tell you a secret. *looks around and whispers* I stopped 20 seconds before the last run was supposed to end. I’m not proud of it, but I think after a 2 week break and a 10 F degree difference in heat, I did pretty well. Especially since I probably should have gone back to C25K’s Week 1 instead of Week 2. But… I’m stubborn. I’m just glad my muscles were still ready so I didn’t injure myself.

SO! It’s only gonna get hotter and I gotta be ready for that. No problem. Even though tonight’s run was tough, I still pushed through and did 99% of it. It just felt good to be out there again. I really hope I don’t come across anymore setbacks anytime soon. Next time I’ll be more careful while running from fireworks so I don’t hurt my knee and, therefor, set off a chain-reaction of events that kept me off the pavement for so long. *sigh*

Well, that’s that.

Leave a Reply

