Crap.

The 4th of July celebrations were a lot of fun! So fun, in fact, that I managed to mess up my knee while running from a super fun mortar that did not launch to the appropriate height. They look amazing when they detonate at 10 feet, though. So… yeah… knee pain that was not caused by pushing too hard on a run has had me out of commission for the past week. That’s very disappointing because I was really looking forward to the 3 minute runs that week three of C25K brings. Now I’m a week behind and I’ll be reverting to week two to ensure I don’t injure myself. I guess that means I’m two weeks behind haha. I am not pleased but I’m being safe so I can keep running in the future. Anyway, that’s why I haven’t posted anything this week.

Well, I won’t waste the entry, so I’ll tell you a little bit more about my running history. One, because it might help you understand a little better why I do this. Two… because I love to talk about ME! haha. Moving on…

Back when I was a very small boy, I got beat up a LOT! I’ve always been short and I have a HUGE cranium. It’s true, my head is ridiculous. I can’t usually even find hats that fit. A lot of people say that, but I’ve only ever found two that actually fit. Two. In all my 32 years. Trust me… it’s big. When I was small and skinny, I looked like a lollipop. So, I got picked on which wasn’t something my inner smart-ass had any patience for. I’d say words and they’d throw rocks and I’d fall down and they’d kick me. Well… now they’re ALL DEAD! Haha, just kidding. I didn’t burn down the school or anything. But I did learn to fight.

See, my mother was with a crazy-ass ex-Green Beret for 10 years and, when I was 8, he basically said “No one who lives in MY house gets their ass kicked! You’re going to martial arts classes!” This translated in my head as “I’m going to send you to a school where more people will beat you up, sometimes with weapons!” I was not keen on this idea, but I had no choice. We lived in the middle of nowhere and there was only one school “close” to us. A muay thai school. Now that I’m an adult, I know how odd that is, but back then I thought it must be a stupid martial art which is why it was all the way out in this really small town. Boy, was I wrong! It’s brutal and effective and, if you do it right, most people will not be able to hit you no matter how hard they try. I liked that and I got really, really good at it in a very timely manner. So good that I didn’t even have to fight after a little while. Now, I’m not trying to show off. This is why it relates to my running history.

Muay thai became my life! I wanted to get as good at it as I possibly could! I didn’t care about competitions and I didn’t care about beating people up. There was just something exhilarating being able to do this amazingly physical thing that no one else I knew could do and I wanted more of it! I asked my instructor what I could do to get stronger and more flexible and have better stamina, etc, and he gave me a list of things I should do it improve on all of it. Running was on the list. “Run 5 miles a day”. I came into class the next day and said “I like everything else on the list besides running. This part about laying in fire for 10 minutes is great, but this running thing… that sounds hard and unpleasant.” He didn’t care. I was running the next day and I hated it. I kept doing it, though, and by the time I was 13 I was running at least 10 miles a day. I wouldn’t love it until about 3 years after that. And here’s why! (I copied this from a post I made on the Runner’s World forums the other day so I wouldn’t have to type it again)

One day I went up to my high school track after school to do some speed training and the hurdles were set up for the track team. I asked the coach if I could still use a lane on the track if I stayed out of the way and he said he’d let me know if I was bothering anyone. I had my friend from muay thai with me and he bet me that I couldn’t run the hurdles that were set up. I was just fooling around, but I took off and ran all the hurdles and turned around to give my friend a friendly greeting involving one of my fingers. *cough* Anyway, as I walked back to where I’d started, the coach called me over and asked me to join the track team because I’d just run the 110 meter hurdles (with perfect form, he made sure to say a few times) in just over 16 seconds and no one else on the track team could beat that haha. I declined because I didn’t have time to join track, but that lit up my world and it was then that I decided that running was something I really liked doing because I realized that I was good at it.

By the way… the running was incredibly beneficial to muay thai. My instructor was right. haha.

That’s enough for now. I’ll talk about my first 5K race the next time I don’t have much to say.

Leave a Reply

