Rolling Right Along

This morning I got out of bed about 4:45 a.m. so I could get ready for my run at 5:30. I meant to get to sleep last night around 8:30, but I’ve been playing Portal 2 and I got distracted for an extra two hours. Luckily, six hours is enough for me. Today’s run went really smoothly.

Tuesday’s run was fine, too. W2D1 of the C25K program didn’t present much of a challenge, but my phone did! I decided to ditch the MP3 player with the faulty headphone jack and use the C25K app that I downloaded instead. Well, I got the Lite version of the app and every time a song changed, the clock would restart. That caused me to do a ten minute warm up walk and alter the interval plan a bit. I ended up running without music. But, I fixed the problem by getting the FULL version of the app and today’s run was as good as could be. In fact, it was so nice that I wanted to run a little further, but I was starting to feel an ache in my shins and I know from experience that pushing an unconditioned body is a bad idea. I’m not going to risk an injury this early in the game and shin splints can take a little while to heal. No way I’m gonna be derailed in the second week.

Other than that, I’m still considering my cross-training workouts. I don’t have to get really serious about that for a while, though, since serious running doesn’t really start until you can run for at least 30 minutes straight. I’m going to start up before I complete the C25K program anyway, but at least I know I have some time to decide on what to do.

I decided to register on the Runner’s World forums this week. The people there are very encouraging and pleasant for the most part. It is an internet forum, after all. There are going to be jerks. haha. But, I can handle it and the discussions are fun and informative. There are sections for everything from beginners to ultra-distance runners, so there really isn’t any reason you shouldn’t get good input from that forum if you need it.

There really isn’t much to say at the moment. Other than contemplating some new running gear, I’m just chugging along until I feel I’m properly conditioned enough to really ramp this up. I am in love with running again, though, and that’s what counts.

Leave a Reply

