Discontent

Okay. I have no idea how to get the ball rolling here, so I’m just going to start putting a bunch of words in this box and hope to hell they convey the message I’m trying to… uh… convey? *sigh* Crap. Well, it’s off to a rocky start, but if you can tolerate me stumbling through the commencement of this overly-ambitious blog project like a drunk woman with a broken high-heel, you shouldn’t have much trouble following along with my future entries.

In the simplest terms… this is a running blog.

I’m leaving that line a little space because it is the down and dirty of what this is really all about. However, my intentions are a bit more ambitious than just keeping you all up to date on how far I ran on a given day or what kind of gear I’m using. I will include that, too, but there’s more to it. I’ll tell you a little about myself and then I’ll get to the freakin’ point because I’m sure I’ve already been rambling a bit and you may be twitching a little in your seat.

I live about halfway down the gulf coast of Florida. My name is Kevin. I’m 32. I weigh close to 200 lbs and I’m only 5’7″. (Ladies, I’m going to have to ask you to either refrain from drooling or at least get a tissue.) As you can see, I do not have a runner’s physique. Why? Because I am not a runner. Or, should I say, not currently a runner. I was once. In fact, I used to run a lot. My story is pretty common among erstwhile runners. I got a job, didn’t have time to run anymore, fell out of shape, tried to start again, realized it was hard and said “screw that!” and never got back into it. Then, in the spring of 2010, I trained for a 5K race which I did run… but that was pretty much the last time I ran any distance at all. Alright, let’s cut to the chase.

I decided to write this blog for a lot of reasons. The first reason being that I’d like to give something to the beginners out there. I know how hard it is to get started and, though there are many links on the internet with the word “beginner” in them, I’ve never seen one that was really for the novice runner. Or, at least, nothing really in-depth. Also, it seems that all those links lead to tips from seasoned runners who use a bunch of running jargon that someone new to the game may not understand. Well, I want to help with that and I feel that I can since I do have experience here, but I’m also currently facing the same concerns that a running virgin would face. Basically, I’m hoping that this blog will give a beginner everything they need to know in order to get out there and start doing it since I will be going through the same thing.

There is another side to this, however, which I believe is the most important part. Not to get all dramatic, but I am not satisfied with my life. That is not to say I’m unhappy, because I am, indeed, a generally happy person. What it does mean is that I’m sick of things the way they are and I know that something has to change. The world we live in today doesn’t allow us much control. A worldwide economy on the brink of collapse. Politicians going crazier than ever. Record-breaking unemployment numbers on a global scale… of which I am a victim. And, trust me, it’s not for lack of trying. I’ve applied for every position I could find, from working in an office to cleaning the toilets in those offices. With things the way they are right now, there’s no room for pride. I have not had a decent income since everything went to hell and I had to shut down my freelance web design venture. It’s tough out there, kids. I feel for anyone who may be going through this.

With all that to deal with, I’ve slipped into an incredibly jaded state-of-mind and I know that’s not healthy. It’s okay to be a little jaded, but I’ve descended into pure, unrefined apathy… hence the title of this blog. It’s all a growing experience, I suppose. I have learned a thing or two through it all. I’ve always known that a position in life is not tied to the position you hold with a company. I know that money is not indicative of a person’s worth. However, with a next-to-nothing income and the constant judgment people pass on the unemployed, I have become very intimate with those concepts. Of course, there’s that little voice in the back of my head that yells at me when I sit on my butt doing nothing for too long and it has recently found itself a megaphone. It keeps me up at night (insomnia) and makes me feel bad about not having anything to do with my time. What am I to do?

Run a marathon.

That’s right! If you read this blog you will witness the long, backbreaking road that a fat guy has to walk… er… run in order to complete a marathon. I figure that if I can do it, anyone can. Well… anyone who doesn’t have some permanent injury / disability which makes it physically impossible.

The point is, I am embarking on this endeavor to prove to myself that I can still do something productive with my time even if employers and judgmental jackasses don’t believe I can. The way I see it, if I reach that 26.2 mile mark, I will never doubt myself again. Or maybe I will. Who knows, right? But it’s worth a shot and I’m going to take it.

My plan is to run the Gasparilla Distance Classic Half-Marathon next spring (about 9 months from now) and the ING Miami Marathon in January of 2013 (assuming the Mayans were wrong). That gives me approximately 18 months to reach my goal. Others have done it in half that time, so I’m optimistic I can do this and it gives me time to do things safely and build better strength and speed before I hit the starting line. My training starts tomorrow and I have not run at all in the past year. I really am starting from scratch.

Well, that’s enough from me for now. If you’ve read through all this, I hope you’ve taken something from it and, if you are interested in getting out there for a run, I hope the entries following this one can help you out. Please feel free to contact me with any questions you may have about any of the content in this blog. I’ll be more than happy to give any answers I can.

Here goes nothin’!

2 thoughts on “Discontent

  1. I started running last year at age 32. My highest weight was 210 (I’m not even 5’3) but by the time I started running I was already down to 170 or so. Now I’m around 140. And I know there are tons of people on RW that started at way heavier. Anyway, running is awesome, being healthy is awesome, and I wish all the best on your journey.

Leave a Reply

